The Puyallup River Watershed Council (PRWC) works to restore, protect and enhance the environmental, economic, and cultural health of our watershed from Mount Rainier to Commencement Bay. We are a forum for local residents and representatives of businesses, governments and other groups collaborating to achieve clean water, healthy habitats, and thriving communities. The PRWC was formed in 1996 to address nonpoint source pollution, and incorporated in 2012 after merging with the Puyallup Watershed Foundation. Our service area is entirety of the WRIA 10 (Puyallup-White River Watershed).


The PRWC is an IRS 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization (EIN: 91-2047734) governed by a Board of Directors consisting of 12-15 members at any given time. At large Board members serve 3-year terms, and officers are elected to 1-year terms for their officer position. Board members volunteer their time, talents, and energy to support the mission of the Puyallup River Watershed Council.


In addition to the Board, there are several active committees that consist of both Board members and other interested participants. Membership is not a requirement of participation. Active committees welcoming broad participation include: Communications, Salmon Homecoming, Science Symposium, Swan Creek Implementation, and Puyallup White River Local Integrating Organization.


2018 Board of Directors:

Carrie Hernandez, President  (Puyallup Watershed Intiative)

Laurie Larson-Pugh, Vice President  (Washington Stormwater Center)

Kurt Fremont, Secretary (City of Tacoma)

Mark Palmer, Treasurer (HDR, Inc)

Patty Denny (Fix Auto Puyallup & Gig Harbor))

Mark Heckert (Citizen, Beaver Creek Environmental Services)

Allan Warren (Pierce Conservation District)

Russ Ladley (Puyallup Tribal Fisheries)

Tom Kantz (Pierce County Planning and Public Works)

Jenn Stebbings (Port of Tacoma)

Julie Masura (UW Tacoma)

Mark LaVergne (Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department)

Pablo Ugas (Sky 9)

Linda Burgess (Citizen)

*Organizations listed are for affiliation purposes only.